Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

BlackIce

Stinky Gloves - Palms smelling Funky!

The other day I was at pick up and smelled something funky on the bench. I knew it was coming from me but could not figure out what it was as I wash my uniforms and air out my equipment religiously. On the bench a guy kept staring at my glove. Well, after the pick up session I smelt the palms of my Eagle X-70's and that's what the funky smell was. O.K what are the solutions to not having funky smelling gloves.

get a new pair...

seriously speaking though... do you air your gear after each hockey session? I've been using the same pair of gloves for 4 years (minor duct tape jobs on some areas), and wash my gloves in very mild antiseptic solution after every 2 months or so... then newspaper to soak up the moisture, and then fan dry overnight.

Try spraying Anti-Bacterial Febreze on them (inside and out) after using them - when they are still wet from sweat. It worked for me.

I read on another forum that gloves can smell the worst out of any piece of equipment. And yes I do air out my equipment after every usage. (I am not one of those nasty guys) :D Thanks for the suggestions. Actually, after one session I even put them in the dryer. But can't that cause the palms to harden? Furthermore, I know that some companies use non-leather based palms and mesh gussets. I now understand that airflow for the palms is important,