Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

JSand

Beer League Player Positioning Advice

I am in my first year as a captain of a beer league team and what a learning process it has been. It is amazing how much adults can whine and pout when they have to play defense or when they don't get to play center because they think they are the best skater on the ice. In any event, I

am in need of some lineup/positioning advice. We currently have one very poor skater on the team and, to make matters worse, he is struggling a bit to learn on-ice positioning. We were all there once and he is enthusiastic about playing and tries hard so I cannot fault him for his effort or learning at a slower pace. However, it usually feels as if we are playing shorthanded when he is on the ice. I have been playing him as a wing on a line with two very strong forwards in an effort to "hide" his weaknesses as best as possible. Is this the best place to hide an obviously weak player in order to minimize the overall impact to the team or is there somewhere/something else that might better serve the team? Thanks much for your advice.

Jeff

Backup goalie?

We have a similar situation on our beer league team. The player is a really nice older guy who picked up the game recently. He has progressed very little in the three years (or so) that he has played. In terms of talent and skill he is nowhere close to belonging in the league (but there really is no other league that would suit him better).