Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

srv2miker

How do you know what "style" goalie you are?

Okay, maybe a dumb question, but bear with a beginner here.

Right now I'm using Brian's Beasts that fit really well, and are good quality (plus I got a killer deal on them). They were the right pad at the time for me (and for the foreseeable future) but being the gear whore that I am, I'm already looking to the future and the pads that I'll buy next.

I know you can cut most manufacturer's lines two ways - hybrid and butterfly. My question - how do you now which you are? I find myself using the butterfly alot - I'm 6'3" and cover a lot of net, so I tend to bfly and play the angles. So I look at my Beasts and think "these would be great if the leg channel was little more bare, the landing gear was a little larger, and they were flat faced".

But, then I look at the NHL and a ton of "bfly" goalies use Velos, which are your classic flexible pad, which I equate to more of a hybrid style. So my question is, if both pads work equally well for bfly, how the hell do I pick which pad is for me? More flex or stiffer?

There's only so much trying on in the store can tell me, so it seems like a bit of gamble to drop $$$ one way or the other without being able to know for sure which style I'll like better.

To sum up - how am I supposed to know (with what little experience I have) whether I will like a stiffer pad or a more flexible pad? Is it the type of bfly (i.e. if my bfly is wide does stiffer make more sense?), or the seal I can create between my legs?

There's a lot of confusion here.