Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Mrtim1119

First time needing help with gear

Hey guys, so I started playing for the first time and bought a lot of my gear. I bought new labeda gripper wheels. I just have basic skates ( tour :etx550) and I wasn't getting any traction while I was playing with the stock wheels. (I play sport court). So I switch to these labeda wheels but haven't gotten a chance to use them yet.

I got 72mm and 76mm wheels. I weigh about 210 . Wanted to see what y'all would recommend for wheels. Possible new skate upgrades in the future. Any advice y'all could give me being new to this would be amazing guys!

I haven't used Labeda Grippers myself, but have heard they're great wheels for smooth concrete. They're single pour wheels so while they'll still work for Sport Court you'd get better performance out of a dual pour wheel. Having said that, the Grippers should be more than adequate for someone just starting out as long as you got the right durometer for your size. 80a is the recommended durometer on IW for that wheel for people over 175lbs. You could likely get away with 76a which would provide a lot of grip, but you'd sacrifice some speed and possibly durability. 74a would be very soft for someone your size, would likely feel very slow and wouldn't last long - if you picked up 74a wheels and haven't used them yet I'd definitely exchange them for one of the harder options.

If you want to get a higher performing dual pour wheel in the future, I'd recommend one of two wheels for the 200lb plus player on Sport Court:

Revision Steel wheels (78a)

Rink Rat Hot Shot XX grip (78a)