Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

blackout

Tips for a complete beginner?

Well, here's my story....

I'm 23, and recently got bitten by the hockey bug. I've never really been interested in any team sport until I started to actually watch hockey. My parents aren't hockey fans, and never really encouraged contact sports growing up. The most experience I have in team sports is tee ball when I was like 6 years old... haha. I am an avid bowler with pretty decent skills in regards to hooking the ball, so perhaps wrist strength is at least partially in my favor when it comes time to pick up a stick. I didn't play any sports in high school either. I'm still learning the finer details like all the smaller rules and such... as I really don't know much beyond the fact that I already love the sport!

My skating experience is negligible at best. When I was around 6-8 years old, I'd skate a few times a year when on winter vacation in the local mountains where they had a rink. I remember trying to skate once in my early teens on an outing with friends, and it was like I had never skated in my life before. It was actually a very shocking experience, as many things in life you don't really forget how to do. Apparently skating doesn't fit into that category, at least for me.

I'm trying to work up the courage to hit the ice at the local rinks. I'm in Southern California, and I'm around a few rinks, so at least they are available. The classes, however, seem catered only to kids. I'm going to go in person to see if that's actually the case.

My plan is to learn to skate, and play it by ear. If it takes a few years to get it down, so be it. I realize how important skating is for hockey, and I really want to be able to shred the ice, hopefully someday at least.