Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

sheffy92

skating from ice to inline

I've been playing ice hockey for about 15 years now having played AAA and Jr A. I decided to play roller hockey for the first time. I bought a pair of alkali rpd max which is a good pair of skates but it needs to be stiffer like my APX skates... I have read some post on here ppl saying that going from ice hockey to roller hockey is a big difference in terms of turning, crossovers and stuff… the biggest difference I find is stopping for roller hockey but after a couple of weeks I can stop pretty effectively but not the same as ice. Now when I skate from ice to roller I don't really notice a difference from the two now when skating. So my question is why do so many ppl seem to have a transition problem from the two? Cause when I first started I thought this would be a big issue for me, yet I actually feel like my skating in ice hockey has improved a bit from roller skating. Did anyone else have and easy transition from ice to roller? just curious to see if anyone did have an easy transition and why you had a easy transition.

For me, the stopping is still a questionable thing. I tend to just curl quickly instead. On ice, the parallel stop is natural for me, on the inline rink, hardly. And I see few that actually do a true 'hockey stop' on the inline rink. That's what took me on my quest to find a better transition from ice to inline. The fact the puck doesn't continue to slide on the sport court also caused more than a few hiccups when I first started last spring. But then, I've been playing on ice for over 40 years and inline for one, so it's a learning curve for me...

well this is my thread about going from inline to ice. i thought i would be a natural but it wasnt so.